Get Experienced Help for Underage Drinking While Driving Charges in Tucson
Challenging Arizona’s zero tolerance laws
Zero tolerance laws place minors and young adults in unjust and difficult circumstances. University of Arizona freshmen typically have friends just a year or two older, who are permitted to enjoy a glass of wine with dinner or a post-study beer break. The older students face no consequences if they drive after responsibly drinking just one alcoholic beverage. However, if you are under the age of 21, you face harsh penalties for engaging in a healthy, normal college activity.
Nesci & St. Louis, PLLC is a law firm exclusively devoted to criminal justice. Our lawyers have more than 40 years of combined experience in DUI and criminal defense trials. Our firm has attorneys certified by the State Bar of Arizona and the National College for DUI Defense, and we have substantial training in the complex issues surrounding DUI defense. In particular, we have studied extensively and taught courses in field sobriety and Breathalyzer® tests and have successfully challenged the reliability and accuracy of the methods used to determine blood and breath alcohol content (BAC).
Zero tolerance laws in Arizona
Minors accused of underage DUI are subjected to higher standards than adults are. Arizona has adopted a zero tolerance approach that charges minors who register a BAC at any level while driving with DUI — as opposed to applying the .08 percent base level used for adults 21 years and older.
The National Highway System Designation Act of 1995 required states to adopt a zero tolerance policy for minors that sets a BAC of .02 percent or greater as a per se offense of driving under the influence. Failure to agree to this harsh policy would have cost Arizona crucial federal funding. Under this strict rule, law enforcement in Tucson does not have to present further evidence to prove that a minor was intoxicated if the underage drinker was above the legal zero tolerance level.
Penalties for conviction for underage drinking and DUI
Under Arizona’s no tolerance laws, you face automatic license suspension and a potential jail term if any trace of alcohol is detected in your system. Although Arizona does not impose a mandatory minimum penalty, if you are reported to the motor vehicle department, you receive a two-year license suspension — even if you are a first-time offender.
Arizona’s no tolerance laws extend to drug usage. Even minute amounts of drugs in your body — including marijuana and cocaine — can result in harsh penalties. With so much at stake, you should retain aggressive defense attorneys in Pima County with experience representing defendants in DUIs involving underage drinking, minors in possession and teens driving on drugs.
Consult with our law firm about defending yourself against the unjust zero tolerance laws of Arizona
To learn more about Arizona’s zero tolerance policies and how they affect your case, call Nesci & St. Louis, PLLC today at 520.777.0235 or contact us online to schedule your free initial consultation.